fashion

Confessions of a Thrift Shopaholic – Entry 1

The biggest clothing brands in the world are not only known for their iconic designs and unforgettable pieces, but also their immoral practices with not only the people they employ, but also the environment around them. Simply building a factory to mass-produce their products takes a toll on the native animals and plants. In addition, producing clothing takes an unreasonable amount of water per a piece. According to greenpeace.org, each pair of jeans made needs around 7,000 liters while a t-shirt needs 2,700 liters. Harmful chemicals used to dye the clothing also negatively impacts every living thing around the factories.

In a world filled with fast fashion and unethical sweatshops, thrifting seems to be a saving grace. Thrift stores allow customers to sell unwanted clothing for a reasonable price before reselling the clothes. Not only do these stores allow customers to save a few bucks, but they also allow unused clothing that would have been thrown out and added to yet another ever-growing landfill to end up in someone else’s hands.

Although I didn’t realize it at the time, I have been a thrift shopper my whole life. When I was younger, I avidly asked my mom for cute shirts and little toys as we wandered around yard sales, unaware I was thrifting. As I became older, especially in middle school, I realized how much fun going to places like Goodwill and Miracle Hill really was. Digging through bins of old scarves I turned into headbands or belts, swiping between hangers displaying oversized men’s button-downs I preferred to think of as comfy flannels, and of course finding the perfect pair of Levi’s to either wear as they are or cut into the perfect high-waisted shorts. I fell in love with all of it, and to this day I still find myself in a thrift store every couple weeks.

Because of this lifelong love, I decided to begin chronicling my thrifting journeys.

Yesterday I went to Brown Roof Thrift located on Woodruff Road in Greenville, South Carolina. It’s a cute little thrift store chain I always discover notable pieces at, and I enjoy the overall atmosphere of the store. Here is what I managed to get my hands on yesterday.

  1. Leopard print blouse, $3

As with all button-down shirts, this exotic blouse can be worn multiple ways. My three favorite ways to style a blouse like this is either leaving it untucked but buttoned, unbuttoning it and tying it into a crop top (usually for when it is warmer outside), or buttoning it and tucking it in for a more professional feel. I have been loving leopard/cheetah print lately, I find it eye-popping yet classy and mature in a weird way.

Processed with VSCO with c7 preset

  1. Praire-esque blouse, $3

I was immediately attracted to the simplicity of this top. I have a horrible tendency to chase after bold patterns and loud colors, making creating actual outfits out of my wardrobe occasionally impossible. However, with a top like this, I can add basically any other color or pattern.

  1. Funky 80s blouse, $3

I can’t help but feel like someone’s (cool) dad from 1984 whenever I wear this shirt. Simply looking at the eccentric cool-toned pattern displayed across the button-down top puts me in a good mood. It’s like Hawaii collaborated with the 80s, and I absolutely love it.

  1. Faux-suede vest, $4

“She could be a farmer in those clothes!” The Clueless line echoes in my mind whenever I imagine myself wearing this suede vest with my prairie shirt and bell-bottomed jeans. Okay, so maybe I look more like a cowboy than a farmer, but still. I can’t help but love the look, though. The only way I can justify the cowboy vibes I must have been feeling while shopping yesterday is I’ve been listening to the all-girl band Haim quite a bit recently, and all three sisters have a bit of a Western-esque style to them. Either way, my lifelong love affair with (faux!!!!)suede lives on.

  1. Leopard print jacket, $5

Like I said before, I love leopard/cheetah print. I made myself choose between either this jacket or a suede one, and since I already have multiple suede jackets hanging on the back of my door at home, I went for the leopard print. I’m excited to wear the bold print with simple black crop tops and cute sweaters as the weather becomes cooler.

Processed with VSCO with c7 preset

Overall, my purchases equaled out to be about $19.50 with tax. Not bad for five pieces I’m completely in love with, especially since a single item of clothing usually costs more than $20. Thanks to thrift stores like Brown Roof Thrift, not only do I have the chance to find great deals on pieces I adore, but these clothes will spend time in my closet rather than an overflowing landfill. It’s a win-win for everyone.

 

xx Shanelle

Leave a Reply

